Click on links to explore the
Activities Section!

Search the APPD Site

APPD Learning Communities

An APPD Learning Community is a group of APPD members who share learning interests and goals and who communicate regularly to collaborate on learning and projects. These communities may serve as a platform for cohort-based, interdisciplinary approaches to deeper learning and sharing, as well as work on common projects to develop new innovations and define effective methods to meet their shared goals. Learning Communities will facilitate valuable contributions to the ongoing work of APPD including mentoring programs, survey review, etc. as well as new projects.

The APPD will develop Learning Communities for the following:


Caroline Rassbach, MD, Chair (2017-2019), Stanford University

Jennifer DiPace, MD, Vice Chair (2017-2019), New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell


Helen Barrett Fromme, MD, MHPE, Chair (2016-2018), University of Chicago Medicine

Nicole Paradise Black, MD, MEd, Vice Chair (2016-2018), University of Florida

Faculty and Professional Development

Erin Giudice, MD, Chair (2017-2019), University of Maryland

Kimberly Gifford, MD, Vice-Chair (2017-2019), Dartmouth- Hitchcock Medical Center

Learning Technologies

Pamela Carpenter, MBA, C-TAGME, Chair (2017-2019), University of Utah

Michelle Miner, MD, Vice Chair (2017-2019), Southern Illinois University School of Medicine

Research and Scholarship

Su-Ting T. Li, MD, MPH, Chair (2015-2017), University of California Davis, Medical Center

Erika Abramson, MD, Vice Chair (2015-2017), New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell

Child Advocacy/Community Health

Michelle Barnes, MD, Co-Chair (2017-2019), University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago

Sarah Garwood, MD, Co-Chair (2017-2019), Washington University/B-JH/SLCH Consortium

Global Health

Christiana Russ, MD,Chair (2014-2019), Boston Children's Hospital

Tania Condurache, MD, MSc, Vice Chair (2014-2019), University of Louisville School of Medicine


Michelle Brooks, C-TAGME, Chair (2014-2019), Stanford University - Lucile Packard Children's Hospital

Beth Payne, MAEd, C-TAGME, Vice Chair (2016-2019), UTHSCSA


Ariel Frey-Vogel, MD, Chair (2014-2019), Massachusetts General Hospital

Amanda Rogers, MD,Vice Chair (2017-2019), Medical College of Wisconsin

Under-Represented Minorities

Patricia Poitevien, MD, MSc, Co-Chair (2015-2019), NYU School of Medicine / Bellevue Hospital Center

Aisha B. Davis, MD, Co-Chair (2015-2019), Children's National Medical Center