APPD Leadership in Educational Academic Development (APPD LEAD)

APPD LEAD is a nationally recognized program that provides a unique opportunity for pediatric academic leaders in medical education to engage and learn from seasoned program directors, pediatric educators, and other national leaders in pediatrics.

The LEAD curriculum focuses on organizational leadership, competency-based curriculum development, faculty development, residency and fellowship program administration, scholarship and career development. The curriculum is paced over three educational conferences, with additional group activities, readings and project work expected between conferences.

APPD is excited to announce that the call for applications to APPD Leadership in Educational Academic Development (APPD LEAD) is now open. Application information, instructions and online forms can be found on APPLY2LEAD.

LEAD highlights include:

  • Nationally recognized faculty with significant experience in program leadership and medical education
  • Peer group activities and support
  • Mentored educational project
  • A certificate given upon completion of all required program elements

Prerequisites for Participation

  • Member of APPD
  • Minimum three years of educational leadership experience as Program Director, Associate Program Director, Fellowship Director, Associate Fellowship Director, Clerkship Director
  • LEAD year should not overlap with being in first year of new leadership role
  • Commitment of Department Chair for $5,500 program fee, travel expenses, and time to attend meetings and complete assignments
  • Commitment of applicant to attend all meetings, complete between meeting assignments, participate in between meeting email discussions and team conference calls, and develop and implement a mentored educational project

Participants in Cohort 5 - Click to Open

APPD LEAD Council and Cohort 5
Front Row (l to r): A. Sass, J. Rama, D. Sklansky, M. van der Velden, Y. Lee-Kim, M. McCabe, S. Wright; Second Row (l to r): L. Waggoner-Fountain (Council), S. Li (Council Chair), J. McGreevy, R. Brooker, H. Haftel (Council), S. Bostwick (Council), A. Etzenhouser, M. Moffatt; Third Row (l to r): R. Shugerman (Council), L. Thoreson, D. Stewart, L. Johnston, R. Swan (Council), J. Frohna (Council), J. DeBord

Robert Brooker, MD
St. Louis University School of Medicine / Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital

Jessica DeBord, MD
Tulane University

Angela Etzenhouser, MD
Children's Mercy Hospital

Lindsay Johnston, MD
Yale-New Haven Medical Center

YoungNa Lee-Kim, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Megan McCabe, MD
Montefiore Medical Center / Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Jon McGreevy, MD
Phoenix Children's Hospital

Mary Moffatt, MD
Children's Mercy Hospital

Jennifer Rama, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Amy Sass, MD, MPH
University of Colorado

Daniel Sklansky, MD
University of Wisconsin

David Stewart, MD
University of Michigan

Lynn Thoreson, DO
University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School Pediatric Program

Meredith van der Velden, MD
Children's Hospital / Boston Medical Center

Suzanne Wright, MD
Marshfield Clinic / St. Joseph's Hospital


The APPD LEAD Council, those individuals who are responsible for developing and delivering curriculum to APPD LEAD, includes the following APPD members:

APPD LEAD Council Members - Click to Open

Su-Ting T. Li MD, MPH (2016 - 2019) Chair
Vice Chair for Educ Peds Dept/Residency Prog Dir
Univ of California, Davis, Medical Center
2516 Stockton Blvd
Sacramento, CA 95817
Phone: (916) 734-2428
Fax: (916) 734-0342

Susan Bostwick MD (2016 - 2017)
Executive Vice Chair
New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell
525 East 68th Street, Box 139
New York, NY 10065
Phone: (212) 746-3522
Fax: (212) 746-3140

Marsha Anderson MD (2017 - 2020)
Associate Program Director
Univ of Colorado/Residency Program
13123 E. 16th Ave, Med Educ B015
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: (720) 777-6877
Fax: (720) 777-7295

John G. Frohna MD,MPH (2012 - 2017)
Program Director/Vice Chair of Education
University of Wisconsin
600 Highland Ave, H4/455 CSC
Madison, WI 53792-4108
Phone: (608) 263-8557
Fax: (608) 263-0722

Hilary Haftel MD, MHPE (2012 - 2018)
Assoc Chair for Education
University of Michigan Program
1500 E. Medical Ctr Dr, D3227 MPB/SPC 5718
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5718
Phone: (734) 764-1258
Fax: (734) 763-4208

Richard P. Shugerman MD (2015 - 2018)
Vice Chair, Faculty Development; Dir, Regional Educ & Fclty Dvlpmnt/Prof, Dept of Peds
Seattle Children's Hosp/U of Washington
4800 Sand Point Way NE, OC.7.830
Seattle, WA 98105
Phone: (206) 987-2688
Fax: (206) -206

Rebecca R. Swan MD (2016 - 2019)
Director, Vanderbilt Pediatric Res Program
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
2200 Children's Way, 8160 DOT
Nashville, TN 37232-9760
Phone: (615) 322-3023
Fax: (615) 343-4655

Robert J. Vinci MD (2017 - 2020)
Chair, Dept of Pediatrics
Boston Medical Center
771 Albany St, Dowling 3 S, Rm 3509,
Boston, MA 02118
Phone: (617) 414-7424
Fax: (617) 414-3833

Linda Waggoner-Fountain MD, MEd (2012 - 2018)
Program Director
Univ of Virginia Dept of Peds, Div of Inf Dis
PO Box 800386/Hosp Dr 4th Flr Barringer/#4224
Charlottesville, VA 22908
Phone: (434) 982-1925
Fax: (434) 982-4246

APPD LEAD Inaugural Council Members - Click to Open

R. Franklin Trimm MD, Chair
Univ of South Alabama Peds Res Prgrm

Susan Bostwick MD
New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell

Grace L. Caputo MD, MPH

Phoenix Children's Hospital

John G. Frohna MD, MPH
University of Wisconsin

Hilary Haftel MD, MHPE
University of Michigan Program

Su-Ting T. Li MD, MPH

Univ of California, Davis, Medical Center

Linda Waggoner-Fountain MD, MEd
Univ of Virginia Dept of Peds, Div of Inf Dis

APPD LEAD Council Secure Webpage

APPD LEAD Cohort Secure Webpage